Skip to content

#Juneathon Day 6: Yasso ice lollies

05/06/2011

SO I ‘ve heard about Yasso 800s, and I’m intrigued by the whole idea of them.

Basically, if you’ve never heard of them like me, you run 800m, and then recover for the same time, and start again, aiming to get up to 10 repeats. But the cool thing is that the time it takes to run the 800m is an indicator of your marathon time.

I’m not really thinking thinking this magic training session is totally accurate, or a way out of all the long, long runs I have coming up in the next few weeks, but it seems something to push me on & as each “set” of a Yasso 800 is a mile.

I did a mile today, and I’m saying that it was my 1st Yasso set, and you can’t make me change my mind.

JUNEathon total: 4.35 miles (1:00:17)
Current Projected Marathon Time: 6:44:23

(Yasso time 5:27 but it killed me!)

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/06/2011 20:13

    I’ve never heard of those before!

  2. 05/06/2011 20:25

    Sounds exhausting. Maybe it’s best not to know and carry on in ignorance!

  3. 05/06/2011 22:09

    Never heard of them, don’t want to hear about them. Let’s say no more about it! I’m happy to plod along and get there late.
    No teenagers today? That’s disappointing!!!!

  4. 06/06/2011 00:21

    I’ve never heard of them either. They sound hard. Possibly good, but hard. So is the point that you try and run each 800m in about the same time? Yikes.

Leave a Reply

