Skip to content

#Juneathon Day 14; I’m getting better, I think.

15/06/2011

The plan, as it seems to be for a few weeks more, is to run 3 miles on a Tuesday.

So feeling more at home with Kilometres, I jogged 5k.
Now I’m beginning to get slightly annoyed with myself and 5k. It was, all those years ago (2009), the 1st “running” challenge I set myself. Like a lot of people, I downloaded a C25K podcast &, I guess like many others, after about week 2 I couldn’t be bothered with it & wanted to listen to my own music. I still stuck to the end date & ran the 5k on schedule in 37 minutes.
Except I didn’t run it all, I ran / walked it, and as a week or so later I found out I was pregnant again, I did more walking & less running, and markedly more sitting on the couch eating cake.
Now today’s 5K I jogged all of it, in 47 minutes, the same route as the 1st time. Ten minutes slower!
So I know obviously I’m not as fit as I was before I was pregnant, I’m fatter too, but this recent run has left me wandering.
What was the “better” result?
Was it going the whole distance at a slower jog?
Or was it getting there quicker, but not running all the way best?

To me I think I *should* be happier with the whole run, but I’m not. That 37 min 5k is still the best time I have over that distance.

Now, I don’t run with a partner, or as a running club, so I’m not sure how prevalent run/walking is after something like C25k. And is it really as bad as I feel it is?

I know part of the answer to this is another question, “which run did you enjoy more?”
The answer is “I’m not certain” and I’m sure it’ll give me something to think about when I go for the 10k scheduled on day 15, but I’d certainly appreciate any thoughts from the Juneathon collective.
And if you can stop the impending downpour, I’d appreciate that too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 15/06/2011 14:56

    Jogging the whole way is better in my opinion – even if it was slower.

    When I started training for my first half marathon I had to slow down (from 9 or 10 min miles to 11 or 12min miles) in order to run distances over 5 or 6 miles without stopping.
    I think its better to build up non stop endurance (especially if your goal is marathon) whatever the pace. Then when you start running longer and longer distances and get fitter and more endurance you’ll probably find the short ones are much easier and quicker.

    And don’t forget we all have slow days when we feel we are running backwards!
    Hope the rain stops!

  2. 15/06/2011 19:39

    I am with fairweather. Apparently a lot of the female distance runners time their pregnancies to boost their running performance, something to do with a boosted blood/oxygen ratio post birth, I think. Time for another junior?

  3. 16/06/2011 10:17

    Unless you’re a competition runner, or someone who pushes themself to the limit, ‘times’ aren’t really that important. Getting ‘fitter’ seems to be your aim, so cardi-vascular exercise would be the greatest benefit to achieving your aim. For c.v. , Jogging is better than walking, it raises the heart rate and burns stored fat at a greater rate than walking. Therefore, a slower time jogging is better for you. Over time, you will certainly see a better performance in your times, so stick with it, try and do a little further, or a little faster each week. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

