Skip to content

#Janathon Day 1 & #Plankaday 1

01/01/2012

“It is easier to resist at the begining than at the end” – Leonardo da Vinci

Both done & I feel much smugger here typing up the blog than I did whilst out running / planking in the living room!

Doing the log part of Janathon last year was the most annoying part of the whole event last year, the blogging was the hardest, but looking through the settings off the RunningFree site this afternoon allowed me to see what I did last year & also how fast/slow I did it.

That’s why today’s 1st Janathon effort was a calculated 2.6km in 21:38. Last year I ran 2.57km in 26 min.

I’m quite proud that I did it 5 min faster! That’s like a 20% improvement on 2011, if I keep that up  my 10k time would be about 1hr 4 min, and I could run my next marathon in about 5 hours!

#Plankaday was horrible, I’ve never done a plank before & had to look up on youtube how to do it. I managed 34.8seconds, that was 34 seconds of PURE AGONY!

In other Millie news I’ve deactivated my Facebook account. I found it was more of a timesuck than anything & it was mostly just another way for people at work to badger me. I don’t work for Subway any more & so I’ve just decided to end it there.  Plus I’ve got so much more out of Twitter; Janathon, Juneathon, Aug30DS, Plankaday, to name just the fitness motivation.

Here’s to 2012, and to shifting the last 38lbs I want rid of!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/01/2012 20:41

    Isn’t it great looking back and seeing how far you’ve come? You’ll be on for that sub-hour 10k in no time!

    • 01/01/2012 20:55

      it’s amazed me to be honest, I never thought that I’d ever be blogging about how I’ve ran a marathon & what my running was like this year vs last!

      Intervals, no matter how horrible they are, are what I’m banking on getting my 10k time right down. I’m even thinking of doing some weights… but don’t tell anyone about that!

  2. 01/01/2012 21:37

    well done! I hate planks and even struggle to get to 30seconds! good luck with the rest of janathon/plankaday 🙂

  3. 01/01/2012 21:46

    Congratulations getting your first run in – and being quicker than last year! I used the Audio Fuel intervals today and it almost killed me!

    Plank a day – now there’s an idea – don’t think I’d be able to do 30 seconds though!

  4. 01/01/2012 21:59

    Sounds like a great start to Janathon! Never heard of planking … off to google it! 🙂

  5. 01/01/2012 22:45

    Great progress, Millie. Looking forward to following you, such an inspiration completing the marathon last year.

  6. 02/01/2012 09:34

    Well done for improving your time!

  7. 02/01/2012 16:44

    5 mins faster thats great

  8. 02/01/2012 17:01

    Here we go again then…I was so motivated during #Juneathon, but with the darkness and cold of #Janathon, I really struggled to get out running on Day 1. Hopefully the twitter feeds will soon be buzzing with all the encouragement (and guilt tripping) which will definitely help. It also helps to read the success stories of those who, like you, really achieve something with PB’s and self-improvement. Keep it going!

Leave a Reply

